The First Conference of NepIF

first confThe first conference of Nepal Intellectual Forum (NepIF) was held at Hotel Aananda on 2nd October, 2010 (16th Aswin, 2067 B. S.). The conference was conducted in two sessions: inauguration and closed session. Pokhara University Service Commission Chairperson Prof. Dr Birendra Singh Gurung inaugurated the event by lightning the auspicious lamp. While giving inaugural speech Prof. Gurung focused that intellectual community should continuously bring forward the research activities. Chairpersonship of the opening ceremony was held by NepIF’s Chairperson Prof. Dr. Pashupati Nath Timalsena. While giving speech Prof. Timalsena said that highly intellectual people available in very small number should leave behind centre oriented thought and move forward their study and research activities. He focused that NepIF is an organization which is established with the purpose of moving forward the above mentioned thought.

From the participants of the inauguration session Prof. Krishna Prasad Aryal, Prof. Dr. Nagendra Lal Shriwastav, Prof. Dr. Bhawani Prasad Pandey, Prof. Dr. Krishna Kumar Shrestha, Prof. Dr. Ridish Pokhrel and from the journalists Mr. Krishna Banstola wished well of conference. While giving speech they presented the opinion that intellectuals should carry out their research activities by digging out national necessity and social benefit.

Joint secretary Dr. Bishnu Poudel gave welcome speech and Dr. Akal Dev Mishra gave vote of thanks. Likewise secretary Prof. Dr. Kedar Basnet informed about forums activities and tresurer Dr. Bishwo Kalyan Parajuli made clear about financial status of the forum.

The closed session of the conference uninimously formed a nine member executive committee of the NepIF under the chairmanship of Prof. Dr. Pashupati Nath Timalsena. Dr. Keshav Datta Awasthi appointed as Vice-Chairman, Prof. Dr. Kedar Basnet as Secretary, Dr. Bishnu Prasad Poudel as Joint Secretary, Dr. Biswo Kallyan Parajuli asTreasurer and Dr. Akkal Dev Mishra, Dr. Ram Chandra Pokhrel, Dr. Vikash K.C and Dr. Shobha Kant Lamichhane as members.